skybox

Anything you want to share!
bebababu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:33 am

skybox

Postby bebababu » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:55 pm

I am a new german user of light up.
How can I create a skybox?
Is it possible to download complete skyboxes?
Thank you for helping

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: skybox

Postby AdamB » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:31 pm

Hi and welcome.

There are many places on the internet you can download skybox image sets - they normally come as 6 images.
There are some links on the website here: http://www.light-up.co.uk/index.php?t=resources

LightUp will also load 360 degree panorama images and auto-convert them. So you can also select the skybox filename as a High Dynamic Range image (HDR) image as found here:
http://www.openfootage.net/?tag=360degree
http://www.aversis.be/hdri/hdri-free.htm

And lastly, LightUp can export your current Tourtool viewpoint as a skybox that can itself be used within LightUp.

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

bebababu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:33 am

Re: skybox

Postby bebababu » Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:02 pm

Thank you very much

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:20 pm

Is there a more detailed process explanation of using the skybox?
I know what one is, I know how to load them in other applications, I know where the setting is in Light-up, I know how to navigate to the folder containing my six images… what then? What settings do I need to ave synched up with sketchup?

Thanks for your help, anyone.


Bryan

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: skybox

Postby AdamB » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:06 pm

Hi Bryan

Navigate to your skybox images and select one of them. LightUp will figure out the other 5 images and load the set as a skybox.

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:14 pm

I wish that were working Adam! I'm going to try it on the Windows machine — it's definitly not loading the other images (I'm using a skybox set I've used before in Unity, I know what it looks like when it's all there) it's wrapping one PNG all around.

I'll let you know if the Windows skybox works, I was hoping there was something I was missing. This seems like another case of one of those things which is supposed to work simply and doesn't always (life in general, not light-up in particular)

Bryan

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:19 am

The skybox is still not working for me, Adam, and I can't figure it out.

The files are .png. When I select one of them, it looks like that image is being wrapped or twisted around when I look up, and I can see where one side meets the other from the same image (see attachments)

I'm also attaching the skybox files I'm trying to use. I'm interested to hear what anyone thinks.

sounds cynical, but I bet they work fine for everyone else. I'm going to upload an image of the dialog box at the point of upload also in my next message. I've cleared caches and restarted a bunch, I haven't tried reinstalling.

Thank you for any help you can give, anyone!
Bryan
Attachments
SkyBox 01.zip
this should be the 6 images I'm using
(1.28 MiB) Downloaded 64 times
skybox-example.jpg
skybox error
skybox-example.jpg (94.83 KiB) Viewed 1008 times
skybox example.jpg
looking up
skybox example.jpg (50.09 KiB) Viewed 1008 times

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:22 am

Here is the dialog box at point of selecting the skybox
Attachments
IMG_1988.JPG
IMG_1988.JPG (1.66 MiB) Viewed 1007 times

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:20 am

To whom it may concern,

If you happen upon this post., and you have found any solution, please let me know.

thank you,

Bryan

bryansears
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:44 pm

Stardate: today

I still have not found a solution to the jpeg lightbox problem. I've made a lot of progress with other aspects of the program, but this one feature is not working still. I read about not using progressive jpegs (I found this in another post), and I've resaved the images and restarted the computer.

My question is still: are there any other relevant parameters that would prevent the lightbox from working, within sketchup or lightup? I ask the sky...


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron