Those New Dialog Boxes...

Features you'd like to see in future versions, gripes, ideas..
Post Reply
Tim Danaher
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:51 pm

Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by Tim Danaher » Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:42 pm

I understand that Adam implemented these because standard Mac dialogs can't display the IES previews, but when you have multiple HDs (I've got 5) things get real confusing, real fast...

If a 'Places' pane could be implemented like in standard Mac dialogs, this would make navigation so much easier. At the moment, I'm having to copy all my bitmaps into a folder that I know will show up when the dialog first opens...
Cheers,

Tim
___________________________________________________
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz 4GB, OS X 10.6.8, SU Pro 8, LU 2.3c

otb designworks
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:21 pm

Re: Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by otb designworks » Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:35 pm

+1 on this!

bentleykf
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:09 am

Re: Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by bentleykf » Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:08 am

+1 as well, and as I understand it, windows has a similar sidebar that could be implemented, though I think this level of integration would be a bit difficult to achieve, esp. with ruby scripts

multid
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:16 am

Re: Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by multid » Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:30 pm

If it was only about IES previews it might worth making a point of popping all IES files in one place or on one disk to save Adam emulating the whole osx filing sys in a browser that could be, and probably will be improved. its the build that counts and 2.0 is just too much. Move a few things around and make a celebratory space right on your home drive.
MtD. 8-)

bentleykf
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:09 am

Re: Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by bentleykf » Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:59 am

multid wrote:If it was only about IES previews it might worth making a point of popping all IES files in one place or on one disk to save Adam emulating the whole osx filing sys in a browser that could be, and probably will be improved.
Speaking of which I'd love to see hdr previews in the dialog box if its possible, it would make matching hdrs to the model much more convenient.
multid wrote:Move a few things around and make a celebratory space right on your home drive.
MtD. 8-)
It might save some heartache if the initial(default/fallback) folder shown in the dialog is the folder that contains the .skp file? or from the another standpoint it might even create some frustration? I generally keep the .skp file and any other textures/hdrs i'm using very close to each other, but I know of some local server based texture/hdr collections that this might cause headaches for (ie. most large architectural or design firms would do this). Maybe a relative/absolute default option could come in handy? what do you guys think?

-niall

Tim Danaher
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:51 pm

Re: Those New Dialog Boxes...

Post by Tim Danaher » Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:30 am

multid wrote:[snip] Move a few things around and make a celebratory space right on your home drive.
MtD. 8-)
Which, if you go into a really deep linguistic analysis, is what " At the moment, I'm having to copy all my bitmaps into a folder that I know will show up when the dialog first opens..." means.
Cheers,

Tim
___________________________________________________
MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz 4GB, OS X 10.6.8, SU Pro 8, LU 2.3c

Post Reply