Page 1 of 1

Trees and dialogwindows

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:17 am
by peerman
Hi, I have two wishes at the moment.

- Please use the standard file browser instead of the dark theme one. I have my textures etc. on another location then my home folder (mac), I have to click loads of times to get to the right folder. The standard Finder dialog has my favourite folders listed so I can quickly reach my textures and watermarks.

- Is it possible to create some kind of vrmesh so I can use trees in my Lightup renders...

Can you shed some light on future developments? Probably not but for instance trees would be a great feature. I can imagine that Sketchup has it's limitations, maybe a standalone part of LightUp?

Regards,
Peter

Re: Trees and dialogwindows

Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:18 pm
by AdamB
peerman wrote:Hi, I have two wishes at the moment.

- Please use the standard file browser instead of the dark theme one. I have my textures etc. on another location then my home folder (mac), I have to click loads of times to get to the right folder. The standard Finder dialog has my favourite folders listed so I can quickly reach my textures and watermarks.
The LightUp browsers persist the 'last known good' folder you used, so it should open on the correct folder automatically.
peerman wrote:- Is it possible to create some kind of vrmesh so I can use trees in my Lightup renders...
You can use Proxy components in LightUp. In SketchUp they are represented as a simple box, but in TourTool you get the full geometry (eg a tree). Is this what you mean?

Adam

Re: Trees and dialogwindows

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:12 am
by peerman
Hi Adam,
Thanks for the reply.
Regarding the Lightup browser. It always defaults to my home folder ~Users/Peter.. And another advantage would be the use of quicklook or icon view so I can quickly spot the right texture (filenames don't always say much :-) ).

As for the trees, I know you can speed up the viewport by using the Lightup proxies. I realize Lightup won't be much faster when a highly tree is loaded from another file like vrmeshes. It still has to calculate all the light. So that wish is not relevant anymore then :-)

OK, one more, is it possible to have an update button or something? It's not always clear when a new build is out. One day I downloaded the 4.2c version and the next day the 4.2e version. Maybe send out an email or something?

Regards,

Re: Trees and dialogwindows

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:00 pm
by Pilou
You can use Proxy components in LightUp. In SketchUp they are represented as a simple box, but in TourTool you get the full geometry (eg a tree).
Excellent! :idea:
Absolutly simple and efficient! 8-)
Of course use the Plugin of Adam : link inside the video on the Youtube Site!


Image