Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup ?

Features you'd like to see in future versions, gripes, ideas..
User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by AdamB » Thu Jun 05, 2014 5:55 pm

Meaning in the development build of LightUp (internal) the problem has been identified and fixed. So it will make it into the next release which is v3.3c
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by AdamB » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:54 am

LightUp v3.3c is now released.

It resolves the issue of capturing Keyframe Animation during TourTool movie recording.
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

3DForFilm
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:36 am

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by 3DForFilm » Fri Jun 20, 2014 8:50 pm

Thank you Adam! I have purchased Keyframe Animation a while back and have been enjoying playing around with it and LightUp together.

I have a concern though, I'm getting some animation issues for more demanding types of animation.

For example this video clip of a submarine model with moving parts on top of it was unable to be exported from light up without being jerky. Even though it animates smoothly while in LightUp.
EDIT- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UYPAnylAPc

Here is a similar animation exported without LightUp for comparison of how smooth the animation should be.

[The extension mp4 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

The sub is hollow inside and I'm using one-sided rendering to improve the performance when using LightUp. Also for Keyframe I'm using 30 frames per seconds for the animation (but I don't think that setting matters because I believe the frame rate setting only affects how many scenes are created when making a tween sketchup file. We don't use tweens do for LightUp because of the hundreds of copys problem stated earlier in this topic). Using the motion blurring option helps, but it doesn't solve the problem and having the "remove unused hierarchy" on or off hasn't made a noticeable difference.

Does anyone know how to improve the export performance or know any way to prevent this jerky animation from happening in the export?
Last edited by 3DForFilm on Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by AdamB » Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:58 am

Your .m4v appears to be corrupt. At least none of our players will play it.

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

3DForFilm
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:36 am

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by 3DForFilm » Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:55 pm

Thank you for telling me the file was corrupted. I had to convert the video file a few times to get it to be under 2mb to upload. I've switched to using YouTube links so I can now avoid this. I've edited my last post and add the YouTube link of the jerky animation. I'm sorry I didn't do so earlier and I appreciate everyone's patience.

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by AdamB » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:44 am

OK, now I can see the "shudder".

I looks like the submarine motion is out of sync with the camera motion. Is the camera being moved with Scene animation?

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

3DForFilm
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:36 am

Re: Can I export a video with Keyframe animation and Lightup

Post by 3DForFilm » Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:08 pm

Yes, the camera is being moved with Scene animation.
For the scene transitions when the shudder happens I had the sub model move around 300-500 feet forward and record that new position with Keyframe in a the advancing scene. Then I moved my camera view with the walking tool and positioned it where I wanted it and hit "update" on the corresponding scene so that only the camera view change is updated.

I don't know how I could use any other animation to move the camera view besides through the scene animation transition; is it that you thought I did this by keeping the camera and sub stationary while moving everything else past the camera creating the illusion that the camera and sub were moving? If so then I must clarify I didn't do that, though that could be a complicated way of avoiding a camera sync problem since the camera would never actually move, just everything around it would.

I hope this isn't confusing and provides some useful information.

Post Reply