skybox

Anything you want to share!
bebababu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:33 am

skybox

Postby bebababu » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:55 pm

I am a new german user of light up.
How can I create a skybox?
Is it possible to download complete skyboxes?
Thank you for helping

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: skybox

Postby AdamB » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:31 pm

Hi and welcome.

There are many places on the internet you can download skybox image sets - they normally come as 6 images.
There are some links on the website here: http://www.light-up.co.uk/index.php?t=resources

LightUp will also load 360 degree panorama images and auto-convert them. So you can also select the skybox filename as a High Dynamic Range image (HDR) image as found here:
http://www.openfootage.net/?tag=360degree
http://www.aversis.be/hdri/hdri-free.htm

And lastly, LightUp can export your current Tourtool viewpoint as a skybox that can itself be used within LightUp.

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

bebababu
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:33 am

Re: skybox

Postby bebababu » Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:02 pm

Thank you very much

bryansears
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Wed Jun 13, 2018 7:20 pm

Is there a more detailed process explanation of using the skybox?
I know what one is, I know how to load them in other applications, I know where the setting is in Light-up, I know how to navigate to the folder containing my six images… what then? What settings do I need to ave synched up with sketchup?

Thanks for your help, anyone.


Bryan

User avatar
AdamB
Site Admin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: Brighton, UK
Contact:

Re: skybox

Postby AdamB » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:06 pm

Hi Bryan

Navigate to your skybox images and select one of them. LightUp will figure out the other 5 images and load the set as a skybox.

Adam
Developer of LightUp http://www.light-up.co.uk

bryansears
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm

Re: skybox

Postby bryansears » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:14 pm

I wish that were working Adam! I'm going to try it on the Windows machine — it's definitly not loading the other images (I'm using a skybox set I've used before in Unity, I know what it looks like when it's all there) it's wrapping one PNG all around.

I'll let you know if the Windows skybox works, I was hoping there was something I was missing. This seems like another case of one of those things which is supposed to work simply and doesn't always (life in general, not light-up in particular)

Bryan


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron